Feeling all poetic…

Tonight I’m home alone for the first time in what feels like an age… It was part of what I enjoyed about New York; time to myself to think and do arty, farty creative things like eat Ice Cream and write. (I know I’m hard work!)

So here’s a short poem I wrote tonight and was quite proud of myself for doing so. Inspired by looking through family photos and thinking about the speech I would make at my best friend’s wedding, what do you think?

A friend, A partner,
A mother, A father.
These are the people,
Who make up the hours that make up our lives.
They bring joy,
They can inflict pain,
They make us feel,
Alive, again and again.
But the true reason they exist,
The real notion behind their worth,
Is discovering they were always there,
Before and after your birth.
So the only choice you have,
Must simply come from the inside,
And love them unconditionally,
To make up the hours that make up our lives.

poem
Leave a Reply

